Making Waves Foundation Board of Directors

The Foundation is governed by a five member board of directors appointed by the Cape Fear Public Transportation Authority. Board members are appointed for a two-year term and may serve up to three terms.



William Bryden

Bill Bryden was appointed to the Foundation as one of three inaugural members. He is retired from IBM and active in the community. Bill previously served as a board member of the Cape Fear Public Transportation Authority serving two terms as Chairman. Bill is a member of the Landfall Foundation, the Wilmington Railroad Museum Board of Directors and UNCW Adult Scholars.

David Todd Chairman

David Todd is the Safety and Accessibility Specialist at UNCW and is the Chairman for the Workplace Safety Committee and Americans with Disabilities Act Compliance Committee. He also serves as the Outreach Chair for the Cape Fear Disability Commission. David holds a Master of Science degree in Occupational Safety from East Carolina University. He also holds a Manager of Environmental, Health and Safety Programs certificate from the N.C. State Industrial Extension Service.


Honorable Lara Padgett Secretary

Laura Padgett served four, four year terms as a member of the Wilmington City Council. Laura has been an independent financial advisor, insurance agent and stock broker, specializing in Qualified Retirement Plans. She currently serves as Vice Chair of the National Multimodal Steering Committee and has held several roles on the boards of the National League of Cities and the North Carolina League of Municipalities.

Allen Serkin

Allen Serkin is the Local Government Services Director for the Cape Fear Council of Governments (COG) and also serves as the Director of the Cape Fear Rural Planning Organization (RPO). Allen manages the planning activities at the COG, develops long-range plans and land development ordinances and provides training and consultation to local planning and zoning boards and staff. Allen holds a Master of Regional Planning from UNC Chapel Hill and a Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Environmental Studies from UNC Wilmington.



Christine McNamee Vice-Chair

Christine McNamee recently retired from the New Hanover County Department of Social Services where she served as Assistant Director for Economic Services for several years. Chris previously served as a board member of the Cape Fear Public Transportation Authority serving two terms as Chairman. She currently serves as secretary of the Wilmington Health Access for Teens Board of Directors and is a member of the Board of Smart Start of New Hanover County.

Plan Your Trip

Where do you want to go today?